Student Life
Greek Life
Interfraternity Council
Fraternity Recruitment
Alpha Chi Rho
Alpha Phi Delta
Kappa Delta Rho
Phi Delta Theta
Phi Sigma Kappa
Delta Tau Delta
National Pan-Hellenic Council
Alpha Kappa Alpha
Iota Phi Theta
Phi Beta Sigma
Zeta Phi Beta
Panhellenic Council
Sorority Recruitment
Delta Phi Epsilon
Delta Zeta
Sigma Kappa
Zeta Tau Alpha
Extension Information
Order of Omega
Fraternity & Sorority Alumni
Frequently Asked Questions
Forms, Stats, & Information

Extension Information


Over the past few months, the Robert Morris University Panhellenic Council has been working towards opening the campus for extension with hopes of expanding and developing the sorority opportunities here at RMU. Extension is the process in which a new sorority is added to the sorority community on any given campus. We have decided that, because of the rapid growth and interest in sorority life and limited space, Robert Morris University will be adding a new sorority chapter to the community. This will give more women the opportunity to be involved and experience a sisterhood through their chapter. 

After bringing on the first new Panhellenic sorority chapter in almost 20 years during 2011-2012, we are exciting to extend to yet another chapter in the Fall of 2014 following formal recruitment. The Panhellenic community has showed overwhelming support to extension and we are excited to continue the process!

The Robert Morris University Collegiate Panhellenic Council officially opened for extension in December 2013, and began accepting applications from national organizations not currently at RMU. We formed an extension committee chaired by the Panhellenic Council advisor, made up of current members from each Panhellenic sorority chapter on campus. The deadline for NPC sororities to submit applications was January 31, 2014. The following six national organizations applied to join the RMU community:
  • Alpha Sigma Alpha
  • Alpha Sigma Tau
  • Phi Mu (previously at RMU)
  • Phi Sigma Sigma
  • Sigma Kappa
  • Theta Phi Alpha (previously at RMU)

Then, after reviewing the applications and much discussion, the extension committee decided which three chapters to invite to visit Robert Morris University and present to the campus community. These three organizations were invited to give presentations open to the entire RMU campus community:
  • Alpha Sigma Tau
  • Phi Mu (previously at RMU) 
  • Sigma Kappa

After assessing the presentations and discussing the optimal choices for the RMU campus community, the extension committee selected Sigma Kappa Sorority to colonize a new chapter during the fall 2014 semester. We will coordinate with Sigma Kappa national headquarters to establish a timeline and strategic plan to add a fourth excellent Panhellenic sorority chapter at RMU. Sigma Kappa will arrive on campus in September 2014 and be able to select up to 79 new members as founders of the new sorority chapter.

For more information on Sigma Kappa Sorority:

For more information on the NPC Extension process: